Get Adobe Flash player
Home > Events > Overseas Events

Call for Candidatures for UIA Gold Medal, UIA Prizes and Vassilis Sgoutas Prize 2017


To encourage merit, talent and activities of international importance, the International Union of Architects (UIA) awards a number of prizes every three years.  Being a Member Section of UIA, HKIA is being invited to nominate candidates for the UIA Gold Medal and Prizes to be presented at the 2017 UIA World Congress Seoul to be held in September 2017.

  • The UIA Gold Medal
    The only prize attributed by architects to one living architect for outstanding architectural achievement
  • The UIA Prize for Town-Planning or Territorial Development
    In memory of Sir Patrick Abercrombie, the first UIA President
  • The UIA Prize for Applied Technology in Architecture
    In memory of Auguste Perret, former Honorary President of the UIA
  • The UIA Prize for Architectural Criticism or Architectural Education
    In memory of Jean Tschumi, former UIA President
  • The UIA Prize for the Improvement of the Quality of Human Settlements
    In memory of Sir Robert Matthew, former UIA President
  • The Vassilis Sgoutas Prize
    Named for former UIA President Vassilis Sgoutas, recognizes architecture serving the most impoverished and for the conception of ingenious solutions for reducing poverty and indigence.

For details about the awards and eligibility, please click HERE to get a copy of the brief of UIA. 

Nominations shall consist of a short CV, a digital photo of the candidate, a résumé of the candidate’s work, including a maximum of 10 photographs, together with the Member Section’s reasons for nominating the candidate.

Should you be interested in being nominated, please submit your short CV, photo and résumé of your work to HKIA Secretariat by email to by 5:30pm, 18 April 2017.

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Sitemap © The Hong Kong Institute of Architects. All Rights Reserved.